Saline Valley Talk

Hosted by SPA, the Saline Preservation Association

Let's talk!

Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment   Page 4 of 4      Prev   1   2   3   4
Hi Desert Warrior

My guess is that BLM must have removed the wreckage sometime later as there is no traces of it now at the chicken strip.  Silver Bobs last posting has a web site that is interesting to visit.  The list is not complete but good at that.  Even my book on crashes is very good but dosn't have the one at grapevine listed.  One story I would like to pass on that is not related to Saline.  I worked in the movie industry for some time and one day while working on a movie I was talking to a Los Angeles County Fireman Safety Officer, on the set.  Talk came around to plane crashes in the San Gabriel Mountains.  He said a few years back there was a brush fire on the slopes of Mt. Wilson and they were able to stop it before it reached the communication site on top.  The fire had burned away all the bushes and exposed a crashed AT-6 Trainer that had been missing for many years.  About 20 feet away was human remains, thought to be the pilot.  The county coroner took charge of the remains and discovered the remains were not the pilot but a Native American that had died over 200 years ago.  The pilot remains were never found.  This plane was not listed on the list, also.  Enjoyed River Rats information on first hand sighting of the crash at the chicken strip.
RiverRat

I was told? read? that the old wreckage at the mouth of McElvoy Canyon road was a glider that made it over the Inyos but couldn't get back out of the valley.  Don't know details about the landing.