Saline Preservation Association

The voice of Saline Valley

Author   Comment   Page 3 of 3      Prev   1   2   3
smhfrompointarena

Also it should be mentioned here that almost all 'car' rental 'agreements' state specifically that the 'insurance policy' including for the towing that you get with the rental vehicle does not cover you if you drive on a "CLOSED ROAD".... ...Or, drive "Recklessly"; whatever that means legally I don't know, I am not a lawyer, but driving on a "CLOSED ROAD" would likely be considered by the 'insurers' and be included somewhere in the fine-print on the 'contract", as not being covered.

Technically, both South and North pass Saline Valley road are 'officially' "CLOSED". It is even in 'print' on the NPS website.

Here is what was posted today on the NPS website:

Unpaved/Backcountry Roads:

The standard conditions of backcountry roads vary from 2wd to extreme 4x4 routes. Many roads are very remote and road conditions can change without notice. For more backcountry road information and conditions, please visit Death Valley Road Conditions on Facebook.

• Mosaic Canyon Road: CLOSED until 6/30/19 due to road construction.
  • Titus Canyon Road: CLOSED due to storm damage.
  • North Eureka Valley Road: CLOSED

• South Pass and North Pass into Saline Valley: CLOSED due to storm damage and rockfall.
  • Skidoo Road & Aguereberry Point Road: CLOSED due to Emigrant Canyon Road closure.

Here is the URL to the NPS web page with that info.

https://www.nps.gov/deva/planyourvisit/conditions.htm

Also, FWIW, even if the rental car has not been 'properly maintained' and the car / vehicle breaks down on a "CLOSED ROAD" you in all likelihood will have to pay the whole cost for towing and repair/s, and maybe even more for loss of use/time and 'resale capital loss' if the company really wants to push for maximum.