Saline Valley Talk

Hosted by SPA, the Saline Preservation Association

Let's talk!

Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment   Page 2 of 12      Prev   1   2   3   4   5   Next   »
Salt Peter

Just rent a proper vehicle.
John914

I'd be more concerned with Bat Road, the last 7 miles of the trip. The first half crosses sandy washes that could be tricky for a low clearance vehicle, then the second half tends to be very rocky.
carrots

Hi guys, how do you think a city car would fare on the road with the recent grading? I've got some experience taking city cars on roads they're not supposed to be on but have been a little paranoid after reading some of the horror stories! I'd like to get to the springs, but would like to check out the area and camp by the road if it's not possible to get to the springs in my car. If you have any tips beyond bringing a spare & fix-a-flat I'd be very appreciative.
SilverBob

The Inyo County road crew did a fantastic job on the North Pass as far as Willow Creek.  The road is as good as it's ever been, albeit quite dusty.  The part between Willow Creek and the Bat Rock turnoff is still rough with very sharp washboarding.  Bat Rock Road is in normal condition with nothing to cause any concern.

The crew is done now, and they've taken the graders back out of the valley, presumably to get ready for snow removal in the coming months.  Rather than hauling ass on the new road surface just because we can, maybe we could try taking it easy for a while and enjoying the trip.  That would keep the road smoother longer.........
Yeah, I know.  Ain't gonna happen.  I can dream though, right?
oski6754

Traveled in via N. Pass on 10/27 and back out on 10/30.  As previously reported, the road is in excellent condition at higher elevations yet devolves to heavy washboard round about Willow Creek.  

*The fastest way in and out of the valley is to drive slow and avoid damaging your vehicle. 
Sam D.