Saline Preservation Association

The voice of Saline Valley

Author   Comment  
Thufir

Thanks for everyone who responded. Sounds like it's worth a trip again.

If anyone is planning a trip from the Las Vegas area, please drop me a note.

My Saab is not the car to make the trip, but I'll happily share expenses with

someone who has something more sturdy. And happy to bring along supplies

for the springs...

Cade

Stayed out for there for 25 days last year. Not one actual ranger that I saw but people say they come through sometimes. I am still a Saline Valley rookie, but I can say its one of the best places on earth!

NPS has taken over the management, but has been relatively hands off.  Still naked hippies in all the pools and some not hippies as well.  It's still dirt camping with a few brave souls who bring in some nicer rigs to 'camp' in.  Wash boards are worse than ever.  But it's still a wonderful place to go and get away.  Just not for everyone I would guess.  Hiking is probably still exactly what you remember from the springs.  There's lots of places out by the road to hike up.  Lizard Lee is the only 'ranger' out there most of the time. 

James Sel
Basically the springs are alive and doing well. still clothing optional. still clean and a friendly environment. 
Thufir

Hi All,