Saline Valley Talk

Hosted by SPA, the Saline Preservation Association

Let's talk!

Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment   Page 1 of 6      1   2   3   4   Next   »
ddoyle43@msn.com

I have been visiting the Saline for over 20 years and do so about twice a year.  The first four years I had Good Year Wrangler At's and had five flats.  The next five years I had used Dueler At's and experienced two flats. The last eleven years I've driven on B.F. Goodrich At's and have only encountered one flat.  I admit to being a slow and cautious driver, but I personally think the tire quality trumps most of the other factors involving tire failure.  I never have aired down, but do keep my tires in good shape and don't allow the tread to get thin.  Probably have had some luck also in missing those little sharp rattlesnake rocks.   
Salt Peter

Flats just happen. Sometimes the environment is more risky. I got a flat on the way out of North Pass just before Marble Canyon. It was pretty smooth. Can't remember if I was aired down or not. A rock got in just the right place and pulled out a knobby of the tread. That was my second flat. The first was a sidewall tear up in the Inyos along some black sandpaper feeling rock.
chrishaynesusa

I always wonder when I hear of flats, is if the drivers had aired down?
I watch videos of this area all the time and few appear to be aired down.
Salt Peter

Yep! What bobhuckaby said. The highway is open.
bobhuckaby

flags don't make a road, I think the phrase "rock garden" is being generous to the present condition for the valley end of steele pass, it is just riding in the wash.
I had 2 friends with Jeeps try to come in south pass for new years and they got stuck in the snow and gave up, then both had flats on the north pass (probably because of being late and pushing too hard on the sharp rocks in the  fresh road), but the north pass is awesome with less than 2 hours from pavement to the springs even though crawling across the bat road.